top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah

To: Everyone who has pushed my car out of the snow From: Sarah


First things first, I'd like you to meet Chandler, the 2014 Ford Fusion (for reference, this is what he looks like). Chandler and I met last year right before summer vacation and we hit it off right away. He has always been there for me and we have a lot of great plans ahead of us. But lately we have been going through a rough patch. You see, Chandler has a lot of trouble driving through the snow. He sits super low to the ground and doesn't have snow tires. During the first few weeks of this semester he has been getting stuck in parking lots and driveways, CONSTANTLY. Although he tries his best, he can't get out of the snow alone. So to those who have been there when Chandler and I have been stuck, thank you.


Thank you to Brad and the guy who plows my driveway for getting me out of a snowbank at home.


Thank you to the two random girls in the Williams Auditorium parking lot for getting me up the hill.


Thank you to Morgan for giving me a push at the Business Building.


Thank you to the Ferris employee with the snow plow to make me a path and for the jokes to ease my mind.


Thank you to Patrick and Craig for getting me out of your driveway.


Thank you all.


To say the least, this winter has been rough. This has probably been the worst winter that I have ever been through. Not too long ago, we experienced the equivalent to a category 2 hurricane, but with snow. Ferris even got three snow days, that's unheard of! To be quite honest I am so sick of this weather. I hope I never have to go through this again. Or if I do I hope I have some snow tires.



But unfortunately I don't have any nice tires. When I am stuck somewhere it is kind of the worst feeling. I like to be able to do things without the help of others and when I would be stuck, throwing my car in drive then reverse and then drive again I would be so frustrated I would want to start to cry. Luckily, I have been in the right place at the right time and someone has been so kind to help out. I have been blown away with how helpful people have been to me so far. I know that if I'm at home or at my boyfriend's then I'll always have someone to help me get out, but when I go to class or to run errands I never know if I will be able to get myself out. It has floored me to see some random person walking out of class and stop to give my car a little shove to get me going.


Luckily, I think I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel and the terrible winter weather is almost done so hopefully I won't be getting stuck anymore. But seeing people be so kind to me these past few months has been just a wonderful experience and has inspired me to try and do more good for people, even if it is just little things. Hold a door open for someone with their arms full, chase after someone when they dropped a glove or just give someone who looks like they are having a rough day a nice big smile.


So to everyone, thank you again for saving me from being stranded in the snow.

And to Chandler, don't worry, I still love you. We just need to get you some new tires.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page